Faculty and Staff

The team of faculty and staff at NCROC is dedicated to the mission of the University of Minnesota: research, education & outreach.

Administrative

Name Position/title Email
Vince Fritz Professor/Director of NCROC vafritz@umn.edu
Debra Keller Office/Administrative Services Specialist dakeller@umn.edu
Jamie Pikus Executive Accounts Specialist jlpikus@umn.edu
Leanne Stanley Principal Office and Administrative Specialist lstanley@umn.edu

Agronomy

Name Position/title Email
Russell D. Mathison Research Fellow mathison@umn.edu

Animal Science

Name Position/title Email
Joe Benes Farm Animal Attendant jabenes@umn.edu
Scott Bird Assistant Scientist birdx062@umn.edu
Chuck Heggedahl Farm Equipment Operator cheggeda@umn.edu
Rob Nalder Farm Animal Attendant rwnalder@umn.edu

Entomology

Name Position/title Email
Lindsey Christianson Researcher 1 chri1203@umn.edu
Chris Philips Assistant Professor cphilips@umn.edu

Forestry

Name Position/title Email
Howard M. Hoganson Professor hogan001@umn.edu

Forest Biology

Name Position/title Email
Andrew J. David Associate Professor adavid@umn.edu
Egon Humenberger Assistant Scientist humen002@umn.edu

Horticulture

Name Position/title Email
Vince Fritz Professor/Director of NCROC vafritz@umn.edu
Dawn Ihle Research Plot Technician dcihle@umn.edu
Keith Mann Research Plot Coordinator mannx014@umn.edu

Maintenance

Name Position/title Email
Doug Hendrickson Vehicle Mechanic hendr024@umn.edu
Derek Leppanen Senior Laborer dleppane@umn.edu
Bill O'Brien Laborer wgobrien@umn.edu
Bob Smith General Maintenance & Field Operations Manager smithra@umn.edu

Tourism

Name Position/title Email
Daniel L. Erkkila Tourism Specialist and Extension Professor erkkila@umn.edu

Wild Rice

Name Position/title Email
Dan Braaten Research Fellow braat010@umn.edu
Jacques Duquette Junior Scientist duque007@umn.edu
Henry Schumer Research Plot Coordinator hschumer@umn.edu

Faculty and Staff